Hinterland and theme parks

Cattolica…more than the beach

gradara
GRADARA’S CASTLE

Situated at 142 metres above sea level, with the Republic of San Marino, Rimini and Carpegna in the background, Gradara represents an extraordinary urban and architectural combination.
Legend has it that the castle was the scene of the famous and tragic love story of Paolo and Francesca, caught in each other’s arms and killed by Gianciotto, Francesca’s husband. This love story was immortalized by Dante in his Divine Comedy.
san marino
SAN MARINO

According to historical tradition, the ancient Republic of San Marino was founded by a Dalmatian stonecutter called Marino, whom Diocletian had entrusted with the task of restoring the walls of the town of Rimini. Marino, and his colleague and close friend Leo, were Christians and to escape the persecutions enforced by the Emperor they took shelter on two nearby hills, Mount Feretrio and Mount Titano respectively. A 10th century manuscript recalls Marino as the “libertatis fundator” of this tiny republic that covers only 61 square kilometres.
Montefiore_Conca_mattino
MONTEFIORE CONCA

An enormous, squat fortress, which can be seen from as far away as Rimini, stands on one of the highest peaks in the Conca Valley surrounded by a sea of green. It is the fortress of Montefiore, one of the most important villages in the entire Malatesta Seignory. Within its walls, in its churches and in its narrow streets, visitors will find precious works of art and discover the traditional craft of pottery. The village dominates the entire coast, making the sea seem just a stone’s throw away. The surrounding countryside is filled with lush olive groves and oak trees, tempting visitors to take a walk along one of the many paths and trails found near here. All of these elements serve to make the village of Montefiore truly unforgettable.
san_giovanni
SAN GIOVANNI

Two definitions can be used to introduce this area, which was once the granary of the Malatesta. It is a town with a wealth of industries and services that have developed on the plain after abandoning the town’s initial hilly position and a rich and fertile countryside crossed by the Ventena torrent. It has an orderly and harmonious landscape, covered in beautiful vineyards that produce quality wine. The coast is close and the edge of the village touches those of the resort of Cattolica. Its old town reveals the importance it had for the seignory of Rimini that developed its fortifications by extending the walls and creating a moat, fed by the Ventena. Within the walls, which have been reinforced towards to sea with two fine pointed bastions, the mediaeval urban layout offers regular blocks built around an open space, where the parish church of San Pietro was constructed in the 13th century. The gate to the north side of the walled village is the 15th-century municipal watch tower. This is where the “middle road” Via XX Settembre begins. Along the road it is possible to see numerous wheat ditches, a total of around 200 recorded underground storerooms for cereals, dotted all around the town. They bear witness to the economic history of this town that was initially a Roman settlement and then the property of the Benedictines. Today, the town’s economy is based on agriculture – the two key products are wine and cereals – and industry, in particular the hi-tech fashion sector. The industriousness of this community also translates into a number of eccentric events, fairs, markets and rallies that attract many tourists. According to local tradition but not only, St. John’s Night – the night between 23 and 24 June – is considered to be “witches’ night” and the popular celebrations held here last all week. Finally, the well-preserved Massari Theatre is a “jewel” in the town’s crown and hosts an annual programme worthy of the best stages.

SALUDECIO

The village’s history boasts a number of leading figures such as the Blessed Amato Ronconi, a Franciscan monk of the third order, who in the 13th century founded the Hospital of Santa Maria di Monte Orciale, a hospice for pilgrims who used to pass through here on their way to Rome, defying constant perils and unknown dangers. The period from the 13th to the 15th century was marked by battles and conflicts for control of the Laudeciano hills. The Malatesta and Montefeltro families alternately ruled the area before surrendering to Cesare Borgia, the Della Rovere family (the legitimate heirs of the Montefeltro family) and for a short period of time, the Venetians. In 1524, the Papal States extended their control over Saludecio and this remained firm until 1859 (with a brief interruption in 1797 when the town became part of the Cisalpine Republic).
The intense literary and political work that has come out of Saludecio has left its mark on the cultural panorama of the Conca Valley, of which for many years it was considered to be the capital. Nowadays, Saludecio is one of the leading agricultural towns in the Rimini area. It also has a flourishing handicraft sector (including ceramics, fine felt work and wrought iron) as well as boasting a small manufacturing industry (footwear, woodwork and metalwork) and is also a leading tourist destination.
In the 1980’s, the unspoilt landscape surrounding the town stimulated the development of an interesting nature project called “Saludecio, a centre for officinal herbs and herbal studies” thanks to which, a permanent herbarium and market garden were set up and now have a hundred different species known as the Erbe di Gaetano (or Gaetano’s Herbs).
montegridolfo
MONTEGRIDOLFO

On the border between the regions of Romagna and the Marche, on a line that divides the Conca Valley and the Foglia Valley, stands one of the best-preserved castles in the Rimini area, the castle of Montegridolfo.
The landscape here is delightful and consists of gently rolling hills that descend to the plain below. The structure of the village is particularly beautiful and all its buildings have been carefully restored. This work hopes to make Montegridolfo one of the leading tourist attractions in the hinterland of Rimini.
palio2
MONDAINO, PALIO DEL DAINO

The approach to this village in the mid-Conca valley is both surprising and thrilling; a village with an elegant semi-circular square, the setting for films and exciting historical re-enactments, within its walls. It has a strong musical imprint, thanks to the presence of a band and an accordion factory owned by the Galanti brothers. It is surrounded by unspoilt scrubland and fields where deer once pastured; indeed, they can still be seen near here and gave the town its name – “monte dei daini” or “mountain of roe deer”. This is where the Etruscans succeeded the Umbrians as they expanded towards the plains. Then the Romans staunched the invasion of the Gauls and established the legend that linked the town’s origins to the figure of Diana, goddess of hunting and the woods, the moon and witches. In the Roman era there was a temple here in her honour, as the remains of Vicus Dianensis recall. The village’s new nameMons Damarum, which subsequently became Mondaino, was attributed to the spread of Christianity. It quickly gained geopolitical importance when the Malatesta made it a stronghold on the border with the Montefeltro, dukes of the area in the upper Conca valley and Urbino,
only 25 kilometres away. The family from Rimini had ruled here since 1289; it consolidated the walls and gates making the fortress, which hosted political meetings like the peace pacts signed initially by Carlo Malatesta and Antonio da Montefeltro in 1393 and then by Sigismondo Pandolfo and Federico in 1459, more imposing. Unfortunately, these agreements were short-lived as three years later Federico conquered Mondaino and gave it to the Church. This did not however, lead to its downfall as it remained one of the key castles in the Conca valley. Although it has maintained its original layout over the centuries, civilian and ecclesiastical architecture has been added. This is now best seen by entering Marina Gate and walking around the districts that host an accurate historical re-enactment in August. Visitors can enjoy nature, art and culture thanks to the beautiful museums that narrate its history from the remotest geological eras. There is a truly magical place not far from the town centre; called Arboretum it is a park with an environmental documentation centre, theatre and two guest quarters that can host those who come to follow art,
communication and nature itineraries. Fabio Tombari lived in the municipality; his books were authentic bestsellers during the 1930s and 40s with ironic studies of provincial life that has largely remained the same. One such example is I Ghiottoni narrated by him (he wrote both I Ghiottoni and Frusaglia here). The town’s traditional food products include truffles, collected in autumn and celebrated in a fair at the end of November, as well as olive oil and Fossa cheese.
San_Leo_I
SAN LEO

Been the first bishop of the district and built the original memorial on which the parish church was constructed during the Carolingian period, then renovated in the pre-Romanesque period. In the 7th century a cathedral devoted to the cult of San Leo was built next to it. It was renovated in 1173, adopting a Romanesque-Lombard layout and was joined to the imposing Byzantine bell tower. In the 12th century the civitas Sanctis Leonis was an urban area consisting in a Bishop’s Palace and clergymen’s residence, the nucleus of the holy town, with other buildings commissioned by the Montefeltro who had settled here, arriving from nearby Carpegna in the mid-12th century. They took the name of the ancient city-fortress of Montefeltro-San Leo, a city that for two years from 962 had been the capital of Italy under the reign of Berengario II. To this day, the rigour and beauty of the old town have remained intact and it boasts a number of Romanesque buildings like the parish church, cathedral and tower, along with several Renaissance buildings like the Medici Palace, which houses the elegant Museum of Sacred Art, the
city-fortress of Montefeltro-San Leo, a city that for two years from 962 had been the capital of Italy under the reign of Berengario II. To this day, the rigour and beauty of the old town have remained intact and it boasts a number of Romanesque buildings like the parish church, cathedral and tower, along with several Renaissance buildings like the Medici Palace, which houses the elegant Museum of Sacred Art, the residence of the Severini-Nardini Counts and Palazzo Della Rovere, now the town hall. The heart of San Leo is the square named after Dante who stayed here, as did St. Francis, who was given Mount della Verna as a gift from Count di Chiusi. The fortress designed by Francesco di Giorgio Martini is on the highest peak and is where Giuseppe Balsamo, known as Count Cagliostro, was imprisoned in 1791 until his death 4 years later. 

 

 

Theme parks

parco-le-navi
LE NAVI, ACQUARIO DI CATTOLICA

A new way to discover the sea, its creatures and its history. The extraordinary history of our seas and oceans from the origins of the world to modern time. Learn while you enjoy yourself in an unforgettable journey along the itineraries offered by the park. Join us for an interactive adventure into the heart of knowledge.
oltremare_logo
OLTREMARE

Open all year, Oltremare is the result of an investment of over 70 million euro, created by entrepreneurs who have worked successfully in the area for many years with Aquafan and Riccione Dolphinarium. The Oltremare Park offers a wealth of itineraries and exciting encounters with nature incorporated in an innovative architectural project where American technology and entertainment experience combine with Italian creativity.
aquafan
AQUAFAN

Not just a leader in the world of waterparks, but much, much more, opened over 15 years ago but still as young as ever! Since it opened in 1987, AQUAFAN has been a focus for the latest trends and fashions, and perhaps this is why it goes so well together with RICCIONE! The continuing collaboration with RADIO DEEJAY and the exciting nights of the Walky Cup Disco with DJ Linus as Art Director make AQUAFAN a theme park packed with energy, just like you!
logo
ITALIA IN MINIATURA

The famous and original theme parks that once again this years offers a host of extra opportunities and services. Try the exciting Treasure Hunt amongst monuments, mountains, arenas and miniature city squares. A great adventure not to be missed!
mirabilandia-logo
MIRABILANDIA

One of Europe’s major entertainment parks on the Adriatic Riviera, as shown by over 1,600,000 visitors last season. Technology, creativity and imagination combine in 37 different attractions located in 6 different theme areas in 70 hectares of greenery. Excitement, entertainment and relaxation guaranteed!
fiabilandia_logo
FIABILANDIA

Yet again this year Fiabilandia has been renewed and enhanced, and new attractions include the Safari Park for an exotic adventure in contact with the most unexpected animals. The Orchard of Forgotten Fruits and the Farmhouse near the Old Farm are certain to satisfy your appetite for nature!
indianagolf_log
INDIANA GOLF

more than a minigolf, could be called a “adventuregolf”.
It is indeed a very special mini golf, where the obstacles to get to the hole formed by ponds,
waterfalls, bridges, climb and the holes are synthetic grass to recreate the feelings of the green of a real golf course.
You can choose one of two routes of varying difficulty, both 18 holes: LOST ARK or LAST CRUSADE.
A game for everyone, from families with small children, in games between friends last shot.
Ideal to spend an afternoon or an alternative picevole evening, all immersed in a park of 7,000 square meters.
An unexpected oasis in the center (or 5 minutes from the center) of Riccione.